We are interested in novel spin textures, especially those occurring in three-dimensional magnetic objects such as nanowires, nanotubes and 3D MRAM. In these, specific effects are made possible by curvature, three-dimensional spin and space, and topology with azimuthal periodic boundary conditions. We design and fabricate devices, image the spin textures, and ultimately aim at addressing these with spin-polarized currents. The applied background includes the proposed concept of 3D race-track memory. This research topic is conducted in close collaboration with colleagues in the Theory group, with LEMMA laboratory at IRIG, with Institut Néel, and expert chemist groups in Germany.

Research topics

Physics of spin textures

bloch-pointWe aim at investigating the existence and dynamics of motion of 3D spin textures under magnetic field or spin-polarized current. While nanowires have been the initial focus, we are developing multilayered nanotubes for their higher versatility for spintronic purposes. Checking the strength of topological protection against their transformation or annihilation is a major goal. We also contribute to 3D MRAM development. We combine material synthesis, experimental investigations, and micromagnetic modelling.

Material development


Special samples need to be designed and synthesized to stabilize 3D spin textures. They may be based on bottom-up chemical synthesis (anodization, electroplating, electroless deposition, atomic layer deposition) and/or lithography for electrical contacting.

Advanced magnetic imaging


Magnetic imaging 3D spin textures is demanding in terms of spatial resolution, bulk/surface and multi-components sensitivity. We are developing expertise in various electron- and X-ray-based techniques, both in the lab and at external facilities.

The team

Permanent staff




  • Dhananjay TIWARI (2019-2021). Joint with Institut NEEL.


  • Michael SCHÖBITZ (2018-2021). Joint with Institut NEEL and Univ. Erlangen-Nürnberg.
  • Mahdi JABER (2019-2022). Joint with IRIG/MEM/LEMMA and PFNC.
  • Laura ALVARO-GOMEZ (2019-2022). Joint with IMDEA, Madrid, Spain.


  • M3d, FP7 (2012-2016).
  • C3DS, ANR-DFG (2019-2022).


Recent news

  • Seminar – Reservoir Computing with Random Magnetic Textures (November 13th, 2019) Seminar - Reservoir Computing with Random Magnetic Textures
    On November 20th at 11:00, we have the pleasure to welcome Daniele Pinna from Johannes Gutenberg University. He will give us a seminar at CEA/SPINTEC (*) Bat 1005, room 445, entitled : Reservoir Computing with Random ...
  • Seminar – Chirality in thin films and multilayers probed by Soft x-ray (coherent) scattering (November 06th, 2019) Seminar - Chirality in thin films and multilayers probed by Soft x-ray (coherent) scattering
    On December 2th at 11:00, we have the pleasure to welcome Nicolas Jaouen from SEXTANTS beamline, Synchrotron SOLEIL. He will give us a seminar at CEA/SPINTEC (*) Bat 1005, room 445, entitled : Chirality in thin ...
  • Masters thesis projects for Spring 2020 (September 30th, 2019) Masters thesis projects for Spring 2020
    You find here the list of proposals for Master-2 internships to take place at Spintec during Spring 2020. In most cases, these internships are intended to be suitable for a longer-term PhD work. Interested Master-1 ...
  • Aurélien Masseboeuf joins SPINTEC (September 13th, 2019) Aurélien Masseboeuf joins SPINTEC
    Aurélien Masseboeuf is a recognized expert in transmission electron microscopy techniques applied to magnetic microscopy. Following a PhD and post-doc period in Grenoble, he further developed his expertise and carrier during ten years as CNRS ...
  • MILF – An ANR project (September 13th, 2019) MILF - An ANR project
    MILF stands for Magnetic Imaging at Low dimensions & high Frequencies. It is a 36-month-long early-carrier ANR project. Magnetic events such as domain reversal, domain wall propagation and vortex oscillations are fast processes, broad source ...


[ All | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 ]

Former team members


  • Sylvain MARTIN (2016-2018)


  • Chloé BOUARD (2015-2018)
  • Beatrix TRAPP (2015-2018). Joint with Institut NEEL.
  • Alexis WARTELLE (2013-2017). Joint with Institut NEEL.


  • Hoel ROBERT (2018). Joint with INAC/MEM.

Copyright © 2015 - Spintec.fr - Réalisation par OXIWIZ

Scroll to Top